On the 10th of October 2019, Accountability Lab South Africa celebrated a journey that was one-year in the making when they named and famed their five Integrity Icons of 2019 at a ceremony in Johannesburg. Hosted at the historic Constitution Hill, the festivities were preceded by an Integrity Summit in which a panel led by South Africa Country Director Dadisai Taderera discussed integrity and accountability in government, business and society. The panellists included Dr Achieng Ojwang, CEO of The Global Compact South Africa and Musa Ngema of the Public Service Commission. All five of the Icons and a group of guests from the public and private sectors were on hand to contribute to the discussions.

Then it was on to the awards ceremony in which each winning Icon was honoured with a special award recognising their particular brand of integrity. The five Icons and the awards they received were: Moshalagae Malatji (Integrity with Perseverance); Gugu Mlotshwa (Integrity with Resourcefulness); Helimamy Moeng (Integrity with Vision); Sakhile Nkosi (Integrity with Courage); and Clinton Odayar (Integrity with Responsibility & the People’s Choice Award).

Our five incredible young film fellows – Winnie Ndengendenge, Tsogo Kupa, Siphe Bongwana, Londeka Mazibuko and Ashanti Maluleke – were also honoured for the roles they played in the production of our five short films of the icons which were shown. The films were produced by Makhulu Productions.

Also in attendance was South African board member and media expert Paula Fray as well as one of our winners from 2018, firefighter Jocelin Flank, who told the icons that their “journeys of accountability” begin today. “This award is for life,” he said. “You have to uphold principles of integrity for life.”

See below an illustration capturing some of the key insights and lessons learned from the Integrity Summit designed by Accountability Lab South Africa’s Non-Profit Management Fellow Rabia Abba Omar.


See a selection of images from the both the Integrity Summit and Integrity Icon Awards Ceremony below.